Home batteries and backup power, as the datasheets state them

7 home battery configurations, 5 power stations and a runtime calculator for outages, each figure dated and linked to its source.

Batteries compared
7
from manufacturer documents
Largest usable capacity
18 kWh
Generac PWRcell 2, M6 cabinet (6 modules)
Longest stated warranty
15 years
Enphase IQ Battery 5P
Federal credit 25D
Ended
not available after 31 Dec 2025 (IRS)

Home batteries by usable capacity

Usable kWh and kWh left at the end of the warrantyPer configuration, from the datasheet kWh and the capacity each maker warrants at the end of the term. Left at end is our arithmetic: usable kWh times the warrantied percentage. Not stated means the document gives no percentage.UsableLeft at endGenerac PWRcell 2, M6 cabinet (6 modules)18 kWh12.6 kWhFortress Power eBoost 1616 kWhnot statedFranklinWH aPower 215 kWh10.5 kWhTesla Powerwall 313.5 kWh9.45 kWhEnphase IQ Battery 10C10 kWh6 kWhGenerac PWRcell 2, M3 cabinet (3 modules)9 kWh6.3 kWhEnphase IQ Battery 5P5 kWh3 kWh
Usable kWh and kWh left at the end of the warranty. Per configuration, from the datasheet kWh and the capacity each maker warrants at the end of the term. Left at end is our arithmetic: usable kWh times the warrantied percentage. Not stated means the document gives no percentage.
BatterykWhkWWarr. yrLeft at end
Generac PWRcell 2, M6 cabinet (6 modules)1810.51012.6 kWh
Fortress Power eBoost 1616n/s10n/s
FranklinWH aPower 215101510.5 kWh
Tesla Powerwall 313.511.5109.45 kWh
Enphase IQ Battery 10C107.08156 kWh
Generac PWRcell 2, M3 cabinet (3 modules)95.2106.3 kWh
Enphase IQ Battery 5P53.84153 kWh

kWh and kW as printed on the datasheet (Enphase 5P is kVA). Left at end is usable kWh times the warrantied percentage, our arithmetic. n/s: not stated in the document.

Data as of 8 Nov 2026, source: manufacturer datasheets and warranty PDFs, links on the batteries page

More data

Costs, incentives, power stations and the documents behind every figure.

Federal credit status

Residential Clean Energy Credit (25D): 30% of qualified cost, property installed 2022 through 31 Dec 2025.

The IRS page states the credit is not available for property placed in service after 31 Dec 2025.

Battery storage: at least 3 kWh capacity (IRS wording).

The dated status, with what the IRS page says and does not say, is on the federal credit status page.

Data as of 8 Nov 2026, source: IRS, Residential Clean Energy Credit

Powerwall 3 or Enphase 10C?

Two batteries on the datasheet numbers, side by side, with the assumptions behind every derived figure shown.